Tuesday, 24 September 2019

Michael Nesmith with Red Rhodes: Cosmic Partners

7a Records are delighted to announce the release of their third Michael Nesmith album. 

Recorded at McCabe's in Santa Monica, CA, on August 18th, 1973, "Cosmic Partners: The McCabe's Tapes" is a rare and previously unreleased concert recording featuring Nesmith and a small coterie of fellow musicians, including long time recording partner and pedal steel player Red Rhodes. 

Released as a lavishly packaged CD set with a 24 page booklet with previously unseen pictures and liner notes by Michael Nesmith. 

This recording is from a mini concert tour that was in support of what was to be Nesmith's final record on the RCA label, Pretty Much Your Standard Ranch Stash. Consisting of a rhythm section featuring Danny Lane on drums and Colin Cameron on bass, and the legendary O.J. "Red" Rhodes on pedal steel, this would be the last performance of its kind and the beginning of an almost Homeric journey for Nesmith. On the heels of an inordinately successful Monkees TV show, the hangover from overnight celebrity, and the disappointments that so often follow such ascents, this forgotten and almost lost board mix in all its unvarnished glory (remastered here by Christian Nesmith, Michael's oldest son) stands as a ready witness to the spirit of a man full of heartache, a performer bruised by the claws of the star-maker machine, and an artist whose songs have become touchstones for our lives. What you hear is exactly as it happened with no overdubs or audio mumbo jumbo. The perfection you hear is totally for real.

Released November 15.

1. Welcome To McCabe's
2. Tomorrow And Me
3. The Upside Of Goodbye
4. The Sock Cymbal Scared Me
5. Grand Ennui
6. Some Of Shelly's Blues
7. Cosmic Partners
8. Rose City Chimes
9. A Dog Wrote It
10. Poinciana
11. The Crippled Lion
12. Alice Nesmith
13. The One Rose
14. Propinquity (I've Just Begun To Care)
15. The Great Escape
16. Joanne
17. Silver Moon

No comments:

Post a comment