Saturday, 13 October 2012

Blue Nile - A Walk Across the Rooftops and Hats re-released...

On November 19th A Walk Across The Rooftops and Hats are to be re-issued with bonus material.

Remastered by band members Paul Buchanan and Robert Bell alongside the original The Blue Nile engineer Calum Malcolm, and issued with bonus CDs containing rarities, live recordings, previously unreleased tracks and B sides, Virgin Records are proud to re-release the first 2 albums from The Blue Nile.

Formed after graduating from Glasgow University in the early 1980’s by guitarist Paul Buchanan, bassist Robert Bell and keyboard player Paul Joseph Moore, rarely does a band evoke such passion and loyalty in its fans.

The bands debut album , A Walk Across The Rooftops was released on Linn Records in 1984 and included 2 singles – Tinseltown In The Rain, and Stay. After a five year break, Hats was recorded in Castlesound Studios in Pencaitland, East Lothian, and released to near universal critical acclaim in 1989, cementing the claim that they were a seminal band with long lasting and far reaching cultural impact.

Entering the UK albums chart at number 12, all 3 singles released – The Downtown Lights, Headlights On The Parade, and Saturday Night – all of which achieved top 75 UK chart status. Described as ‘an immensely warm and human album’, Paul Buchanan’s vocals and songs are thoughtful, heartfelt and moving’, while listening to Hats is often described as ‘a cinematic experience.’

A Walk Across The Rooftops
1. A Walk Across The Rooftops 2. Tinseltown In The Rain 3. From Rags To Riches 4. Stay 5. Easter Parade 6. Heatwave 7. Automobile Noise Bonus CD 1. I Love This Life – the band’s first single 2. Heatwave – Rhythm Mix 3. St Catherine’s Day – previously unreleased 4. Tinseltown In The Rain – mix 5. The Second Act – B side to I Love This Life 6. Stay – Little Mix 7. Regret – B side to Tinseltown In The Rain

1. Over The Hillside 2. The Downtown Lights 3. Let’s Go Out Tonight 4. Headlights On The Parade 5. From A Late Night Train 6. Seven AM 7. Saturday Night Bonus CD 1. Seven AM – recorded before the end of the Hats sessions 2. Christmas – previously unreleased 3. Let’s Go Out Tonight – vocal 2 – the 2nd vocal take 4. Saturday Night – vocal 2 – early mix 5. Headlights On The Parade – Live In Tennessee 6. The Wires Are Down – B side to The Downtown Lights single

No comments:

Post a Comment